The Church of Saint Michael the Archangel was originally build by Benedictine monks from the Kladruby Monastery in what was then the village of Opatovice in the year 1115. The church served as the parish church for the village. Over the years it went through many reconstructions. The old Romanesque church was torn down around 1369 and was replaced by a Gothic building with a flat ceiling and and a squared tower. The unique vault with the uneven presbytery dates to this time. It is a rarity in Prague and was probably inspired by the vault of Zvíkov Castle.
The asymmetrical three-aisle building is unified by a curved Baroque ledge. There is a Baroque stair extension to the south Gothic aisle that leads to the choir loft. There is a Baroque chapel of St. Salvator and a contemporary sacristy on the north side of the church. The church building is topped by a narrow tower with a Gothic core.
The church was de-consecrated during the reign of Joseph II in 1787. It was last used as a storehouse. In 1791 the church was bought by German Lutherans and it was excepted by a special decree that would have demanded that the tower would have been torn down. The church has been used by Protestants of the Augsburg Confession ever since. It is currently the only Lutheran church in Prague.