The Church of Saint Michael the Archangel was originally built by Benedictine monks from the Kladruby Monastery in what was then the village of Opatovice in the year 1115. The church served as the parish church for the village. Over the years it went through many reconstructions. The old Romanesque church was torn down around 1369 and was replaced by a Gothic building with a flat ceiling and and a squared tower. The unique vault with the uneven presbytery dates to this time. It is a rarity in Prague and was probably inspired by the vault of Zvíkov Castle.
The asymmetrical three-aisle building is unified by a curved Baroque ledge. There is a Baroque stair extension to the south Gothic aisle that leads to the choir loft. There is also a Baroque chapel to St. Salvator and a contemporary sacristy on the north side of the church. The church building is topped by a narrow tower with a Gothic core.
The church was de-consecrated during the reign of Joseph II in 1787, and was converted into a storehouse. In 1791, the church was bought by German Lutherans, and the tower was fortunately excepted by a special decree from legislation that demanded it be torn it down, since non-Catholic churches were forbidden to ring bells or have doors opening to the streets in Prague. The church has been used by Lutherans of the Augsburg Confession ever since. It is currently the only Lutheran church in Prague.